Monday, February 22, 2016

Consistent Rides for Pirelli Racers in the Lone Star State

Courtesy of Pirelli

ARLINGTON, Texas (USA) February 21, 2016 – The seventh round of the 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, was held Saturday night inside AT&T Stadium just outside of Dallas. This was the first stop away from the west coast stadiums as the series’ makes its annual trek east.
Davi Millsaps and Weston Peick
BTO Sports/WPS/KTM’s Davi Millsaps put together a solid ride in 450SX Heat 1 battling from outside the top five to a third place finish, good enough for a direct transfer to the Main Event.
Pirelli racers dominated 450SX Semi 2 with Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Weston Peick taking the win. BTO Sports’ Justin Brayton led the first two laps before closely following Peick across the line in third. JGRMX’s Phil Nicoletti finished in fourth and Brayton’s teammate, Andrew Short finished fifth, all earning spots on the line in the Main Event.
Nick Schmidt
After nearly leading the 450SX LCQ from start to finish, TPJ Racing’s Nick Schmidt narrowly missed out on the win as he crossed the finish line in second place. Privateer Alex Ray finished a couple of spots behind Schmidt in fourth, also securing his position in the Main Event.
Texas native Kyle Cunningham throttled his Motorcycle Superstore Suzuki to a strong top five result in 250SX Heat 1, moving on directly to the Main Event.
Peick was leading the Pirelli charge in the 450SX Main Event for a majority of the race after starting just outside of the top five. An unfortunate mechanical issue ultimately sidelined Peick with a handful of laps to go, crediting him with 21st place in the final standings.
Andrew Short
BTO Sports teammates Millsaps and Short both started in the middle of the pack. Millsaps steadily worked his way by riders en route to a seventh place finish while Short rode a steady race, crossing the line in 13th. Brayton rode hard the entire 20 laps as he crossed the finish line in 11th.
Nicoletti was the model of consistency in the 450SX Main Event. He started in 16th, strung together 20 solid laps before collecting his best finish of the 2016 season in 15th. Schmidt finished in 19th position, followed by Ray in 22nd.
After starting well outside of the top-10, Cunningham went to work picking off riders in the 250SX Main Event. He would move into 16th position at the halfway point of the race and would hold onto that position until the checkered flag. Cunningham maintains ninth place in the overall 250SX West Region point’s standings.
Cunningham and the rest of the 250SX West Region racers will take the next six weeks off as the East Region racers take the stage.
The series ventures further east to Atlanta for the eighth round of Monster Energy Supercross inside the Georgia Dome on Saturday, February 27, 2016.

450SX Class Results
1. Ken Roczen (Suzuki)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)
4. Cole Seely (Honda)
5. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
6. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
7. David Millsaps (KTM)
8. Christophe Pourcel (Husqvarna)
9. Trey Canard (Honda)
10. Jacob Weimer (Suzuki)
11. Justin Brayton (KTM)
- – -
13. Andrew Short (KTM)
15. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
19. Nicolas Schmidt (Suzuki)
21. Weston Peick (Yamaha)
22. Alex Ray (Honda)

450SX Class Championship Standings
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM) – 166
2. Ken Roczen (Suzuki) – 143
3. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna) – 131
4. Cole Seely (Honda) – 123
5. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki) – 119
6. Chad Reed (Yamaha) – 112
7. Marvin Musquin (KTM) – 92
8. Davi Millsaps (KTM) – 85
9. Justin Brayton (KTM) – 82
10. Jake Weimer (Suzuki) – 73

Western Regional 250SX Class Results
1. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
2. Christian Craig (Honda)
3. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna)
4. Colt Nichols (Yamaha)
5. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM)
6. Alex Martin (Yamaha)
7. James Decotis (Honda)
8. Chris Alldredge (Kawasaki)
9. Kyle Peters (Honda)
10. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki)
- – -
16. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki)

Western Regional 250SX Class Championship Standings
1. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) – 145
2. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki) – 134
3. Christian Craig (Honda) – 129
4. Colt Nichols (Yamaha) – 117
5. Zach Osbourne (Husqvarna) – 110
6. Jimmy Decotis (Honda) – 99
7. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM) – 97
8. Kyle Peters (Honda) – 87
9. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki) – 69
10. Jordan Smith (Honda) – 63
  Was this post helpful? Add yours to our service or subscribe to our feed above.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.